Best Credit Card for First Credit Card in India (2026)
Find the best credit card for first credit card. Personalized matching based on your spends and approval profile. 6 first credit card cards compared on fees, caps, and net returns for 2026. 6 first credit card cards compared on fees, caps, and net returns for 2026.
Updated 6 October 2026·6 cards · 5 min scan·CardHungry
Top pick · AU Altura Credit Card
Net / yr
₹2,640
Annual fee
Free
Return
0.7%
Top picks
Net annual value · moderate spend
Number one pick: AU Altura Credit Card, ₹2,640 per year net
AU Altura Credit Card
AU Small Finance Bank
Net / yr
₹2,640
Fee
₹199
Top
2% cashback
- ✓Best net value on this list — about ₹2,640/yr in your pocket after fees on typical spends.
- ✓Best for grocery + utility — 2% cashback, up to ₹50/cycle each.
SBI Card against Fixed Deposit
SBI Card
Net / yr
₹1,440
Fee
Free
Top
80% of FD value
- ✓Strong runner-up at ₹1,440/yr net — roughly ₹1,200 behind #1 on the same spend mix.
- ✓Best for credit limit — 80% of FD value.
AU Altura Credit Card
AU Small Finance Bank
Net / yr
₹2,640
Fee
₹199
Top
2% cashback
- ✓Best net value on this list — about ₹2,640/yr in your pocket after fees on typical spends.
- ✓Best for grocery + utility — 2% cashback, up to ₹50/cycle each.
IndusInd Legend Credit Card
IndusInd Bank
Net / yr
₹936
Fee
Free
Top
1 reward point/₹100
- ✓Worth a look — ₹936/yr net, still ahead of 3 other eligible cards.
- ✓Best for all spends — 1 reward point/₹100.
Why #2–#6 rank here
Ranked by net annual value on a moderate spend profile. Each line ties to issuer T&Cs, fees, caps, and your eligibility band. How we calculate NAV
- Strong runner-up at ₹1,440/yr net — roughly ₹1,200 behind #1 on the same spend mix.
- Best for credit limit — 80% of FD value.
- No annual fee — what you earn isn't eaten by membership cost.
2SBI Card against Fixed DepositSBI Card
- Strong runner-up at ₹1,440/yr net — roughly ₹1,200 behind #1 on the same spend mix.
- Best for credit limit — 80% of FD value.
- No annual fee — what you earn isn't eaten by membership cost.
Full review →Net / yr
₹1,440
- Worth a look — ₹936/yr net, still ahead of 3 other eligible cards.
- Best for all spends — 1 reward point/₹100.
- No annual fee — what you earn isn't eaten by membership cost.
3IndusInd Legend Credit CardIndusInd Bank
- Worth a look — ₹936/yr net, still ahead of 3 other eligible cards.
- Best for all spends — 1 reward point/₹100.
- No annual fee — what you earn isn't eaten by membership cost.
Full review →Net / yr
₹936
- #4 here with ₹620/yr net (~0.17% back on your spends).
- Best for all spends — 1X reward points.
- No annual fee — what you earn isn't eaten by membership cost.
4IDFC FIRST WOW Credit CardIDFC FIRST Bank
- #4 here with ₹620/yr net (~0.17% back on your spends).
- Best for all spends — 1X reward points.
- No annual fee — what you earn isn't eaten by membership cost.
Full review →Net / yr
₹620
- #5 here with ₹540/yr net (~0.15% back on your spends).
- Best for offline retail — 1.5% cashback, up to ₹100/billing cycle.
- Fee likely waived if you spend ₹80,000/yr — worth it on moderate usage.
5AU Altura+ Credit CardAU Small Finance Bank
- #5 here with ₹540/yr net (~0.15% back on your spends).
- Best for offline retail — 1.5% cashback, up to ₹100/billing cycle.
- Fee likely waived if you spend ₹80,000/yr — worth it on moderate usage.
Full review →Net / yr
₹540
- #6 here with ₹156/yr net (~0.04% back on your spends).
- Best for base retail — 1 RP/₹100, up to 10,000 RP/cycle.
- No annual fee — what you earn isn't eaten by membership cost.
6AU LIT Credit CardAU Small Finance Bank
- #6 here with ₹156/yr net (~0.04% back on your spends).
- Best for base retail — 1 RP/₹100, up to 10,000 RP/cycle.
- No annual fee — what you earn isn't eaten by membership cost.
Full review →Net / yr
₹156
Why each card ranks here
Ranked by net annual value on a moderate spend profile. Each line ties to issuer T&Cs, fees, caps, and your eligibility band. How we calculate NAV
- Best net value on this list — about ₹2,640/yr in your pocket after fees on typical spends.
- Best for grocery + utility — 2% cashback, up to ₹50/cycle each.
- Fee likely waived if you spend ₹40,000/yr — worth it on moderate usage.
1AU Altura Credit CardAU Small Finance Bank
- Best net value on this list — about ₹2,640/yr in your pocket after fees on typical spends.
- Best for grocery + utility — 2% cashback, up to ₹50/cycle each.
- Fee likely waived if you spend ₹40,000/yr — worth it on moderate usage.
Full review →Net / yr
₹2,640
- Strong runner-up at ₹1,440/yr net — roughly ₹1,200 behind #1 on the same spend mix.
- Best for credit limit — 80% of FD value.
- No annual fee — what you earn isn't eaten by membership cost.
2SBI Card against Fixed DepositSBI Card
- Strong runner-up at ₹1,440/yr net — roughly ₹1,200 behind #1 on the same spend mix.
- Best for credit limit — 80% of FD value.
- No annual fee — what you earn isn't eaten by membership cost.
Full review →Net / yr
₹1,440
- Worth a look — ₹936/yr net, still ahead of 3 other eligible cards.
- Best for all spends — 1 reward point/₹100.
- No annual fee — what you earn isn't eaten by membership cost.
3IndusInd Legend Credit CardIndusInd Bank
- Worth a look — ₹936/yr net, still ahead of 3 other eligible cards.
- Best for all spends — 1 reward point/₹100.
- No annual fee — what you earn isn't eaten by membership cost.
Full review →Net / yr
₹936
- #4 here with ₹620/yr net (~0.17% back on your spends).
- Best for all spends — 1X reward points.
- No annual fee — what you earn isn't eaten by membership cost.
4IDFC FIRST WOW Credit CardIDFC FIRST Bank
- #4 here with ₹620/yr net (~0.17% back on your spends).
- Best for all spends — 1X reward points.
- No annual fee — what you earn isn't eaten by membership cost.
Full review →Net / yr
₹620
- #5 here with ₹540/yr net (~0.15% back on your spends).
- Best for offline retail — 1.5% cashback, up to ₹100/billing cycle.
- Fee likely waived if you spend ₹80,000/yr — worth it on moderate usage.
5AU Altura+ Credit CardAU Small Finance Bank
- #5 here with ₹540/yr net (~0.15% back on your spends).
- Best for offline retail — 1.5% cashback, up to ₹100/billing cycle.
- Fee likely waived if you spend ₹80,000/yr — worth it on moderate usage.
Full review →Net / yr
₹540
- #6 here with ₹156/yr net (~0.04% back on your spends).
- Best for base retail — 1 RP/₹100, up to 10,000 RP/cycle.
- No annual fee — what you earn isn't eaten by membership cost.
6AU LIT Credit CardAU Small Finance Bank
- #6 here with ₹156/yr net (~0.04% back on your spends).
- Best for base retail — 1 RP/₹100, up to 10,000 RP/cycle.
- No annual fee — what you earn isn't eaten by membership cost.
Full review →Net / yr
₹156
Net value snapshot
Rewards minus annual fee on your spend profile
- #1AU Altura Credit Card₹2,640#1AU Altura Credit Card₹2,640
- #2SBI Card against Fixed Deposit₹1,440#2SBI Card against Fixed Deposit₹1,440
- #3IndusInd Legend Credit Card₹936#3IndusInd Legend Credit Card₹936
- #4IDFC FIRST WOW Credit Card₹620#4IDFC FIRST WOW Credit Card₹620
- #5AU Altura+ Credit Card₹540#5AU Altura+ Credit Card₹540
Before you apply
Category fit first
This guide ranks first credit card cards by net annual value — pick the one that matches your real spends in this category.
Net value over hype
Subtract annual fees and model monthly caps before comparing headline reward rates.
Apply once
One well-matched application beats multiple CIBIL enquiries in the same month.
Frequently asked questions
Which credit card is best for first credit card in India?+
No single winner — it depends on monthly first credit card spend, caps, and fee structure. This guide compares 6+ cards by net annual value.
Are reward caps important for first credit card cards?+
Critical. A high rate with a low cap often loses to a lower unlimited rate. Always convert caps to absolute annual currency.
Do first credit card cards work with wallets and QR payments?+
Often not. Wallet loads, rent, EMI, and government payments are commonly excluded. Check issuer MCC exclusions before applying.
Can I hold multiple first credit card cards?+
Yes, but one primary first credit card card plus a general-purpose backup is usually optimal. Diminishing returns after that.
Will CardHungry spam me after I apply?+
No. Zero outbound sales calls. Optional email updates capped at 2 messages. One-click unsubscribe.
Full written guide
Methodology, tables, eligibility & fine print · ~8 min read
Full written guide
Methodology, tables, eligibility & fine print · ~8 min read
Looking for the best credit card for first credit card in India? Generic top-10 listicles ignore your income, monthly caps, excluded MCCs, and whether you can actually get approved. This CardHungry guide analyses 6 leading cards with reward rules, net annual value across three spend profiles, exclusions, and who each card suits best — updated June 2026.
First-time applicants should prioritise approval probability over reward rates. FD-backed secured cards and lifetime-free entry cards build bureau history without fee risk. Avoid premium travel cards until your income and credit age support them.
On this page
What matters for first credit card cards
- Effective rate after caps — divide annual cap by annual spend to get true yield.
- Category MCC coding — some merchants classify as "general" not "first credit card".
- Partner lock-in — co-brand cards only win at specific merchants.
- Annual fee breakeven — fee must be recovered from first credit card rewards alone or cross-category value.
- Stacking rules — most issuers forbid combining offers; read T&Cs.
Annual fee breakeven example
If a card charges ₹999/year and offers 5% on first credit card with a ₹5,000/month cap, maximum first credit card rewards = ₹6,000/year. Net after fee = ₹5,001 — but only if you actually hit the cap every month. Partial spends reduce this sharply.
Net value by spend profile
| Card | Light spender | Moderate | Heavy |
|---|---|---|---|
| AU Altura Credit Card | ₹1,740 | ₹2,640 | ₹4,440 |
| SBI Card against Fixed Deposit | ₹780 | ₹1,440 | ₹2,220 |
| IndusInd Legend Credit Card | ₹480 | ₹936 | ₹1,728 |
| IDFC FIRST WOW Credit Card | ₹260 | ₹620 | ₹1,300 |
| AU Altura+ Credit Card | ₹390 | ₹540 | ₹540 |
Net annual value after annual fee and estimated forex. Caps applied per issuer T&Cs.
Top first credit card credit cards — full breakdown
1. AU Altura Credit Card
Issuer: AU Small Finance Bank · Tier: Classic · Annual fee: ₹199
Tier 2/3 friendly
Eligibility snapshot
- Min monthly income (salaried): ₹15,000
- Secured / FD-backed: No — standard unsecured
- Approval note: Indicative only. CIBIL checked by bank at application, not by CardHungry.
Reward structure
- groceries: 2% cashback — cap ₹50/month
- utilities: 2% cashback — cap ₹50/month
- all: 1% cashback
Headline highlight: 2% cashback on Grocery + utility (cap ₹50/cycle each)
Net value estimate (moderate spend profile)
- Gross annual rewards: ₹3,060
- Annual fee: −₹0
- Forex markup cost (est.): −₹420 (3.5% on international spends)
- Net annual value: ₹2,640 (0.71% effective return)
Key benefits
- ₹199 annual, waived at ₹40k spend
- 2% grocery + utility (₹50/cycle each)
- 1% on other retail
Exclusions & fine print
Typically excluded or reduced: EMI, Fuel, Rent.
Best for: Tier 2/3 cities · Easy approval · ₹15K+ income
Read full AU Altura Credit Card review with spend simulator →
2. SBI Card against Fixed Deposit
Issuer: SBI Card · Tier: Classic · Annual fee: Lifetime free
SBI secured card
Eligibility snapshot
- Min monthly income (salaried): Not stated publicly
- Secured / FD-backed: Yes (min FD ₹20,000)
Reward structure
- all: 0.5% cashback
Headline highlight: 80% of FD value on Credit limit
Net value estimate (moderate spend profile)
- Gross annual rewards: ₹1,860
- Annual fee: −₹0
- Forex markup cost (est.): −₹420 (3.5% on international spends)
- Net annual value: ₹1,440 (0.39% effective return)
Key benefits
- FD-backed from ₹20K
- 80% of FD as limit
- No income proof
Exclusions & fine print
Typically excluded or reduced: .
Best for: Credit building with SBI · No CIBIL history · Min FD ₹20,000
Read full SBI Card against Fixed Deposit review with spend simulator →
3. IndusInd Legend Credit Card
Issuer: IndusInd Bank · Tier: Gold · Annual fee: Lifetime free
Points that stick
Eligibility snapshot
- Min monthly income (salaried): ₹20,000
- Secured / FD-backed: No — standard unsecured
Reward structure
- all: 2X points
Headline highlight: 1 reward point/₹100 on All spends
Net value estimate (moderate spend profile)
- Gross annual rewards: ₹1,152
- Annual fee: −₹0
- Forex markup cost (est.): −₹216 (1.8% on international spends)
- Net annual value: ₹936 (0.25% effective return)
Key benefits
- ₹5,000 joining, ₹0 annual
- Partner offers
- Reward points never expire
Exclusions & fine print
Typically excluded or reduced: EMI, Fuel, Rent.
Best for: Partner offer hunters · IndusInd relationship
Read full IndusInd Legend Credit Card review with spend simulator →
4. IDFC FIRST WOW Credit Card
Issuer: IDFC FIRST Bank · Tier: Classic · Annual fee: Lifetime free
No CIBIL needed
Eligibility snapshot
- Min monthly income (salaried): Not stated publicly
- Secured / FD-backed: Yes (min FD ₹5,000)
Reward structure
- upi: 1X points
- all: 1X points
Headline highlight: 1X reward points on All spends
Net value estimate (moderate spend profile)
- Gross annual rewards: ₹620
- Annual fee: −₹0
- Forex markup cost (est.): −₹0 (0% on international spends)
- Net annual value: ₹620 (0.17% effective return)
Key benefits
- FD-backed — no income proof
- 100% FD as credit limit
- Lifetime free
Exclusions & fine print
Typically excluded or reduced: .
Best for: Students · Homemakers · First-time credit builders · No income proof
Read full IDFC FIRST WOW Credit Card review with spend simulator →
5. AU Altura+ Credit Card
Issuer: AU Small Finance Bank · Tier: Platinum · Annual fee: ₹499
Entry cashback + railway lounge
Eligibility snapshot
- Min monthly income (salaried): ₹15,000
- Secured / FD-backed: No — standard unsecured
Reward structure
- other: 1.5% cashback — cap ₹100/month
- online shopping: 3X points
- utilities: 1.5X points
- all: 1.5X points
Headline highlight: 1.5% cashback on Offline retail (cap ₹100/billing cycle)
Net value estimate (moderate spend profile)
- Gross annual rewards: ₹960
- Annual fee: −₹0
- Forex markup cost (est.): −₹420 (3.5% on international spends)
- Net annual value: ₹540 (0.15% effective return)
Key benefits
- ₹499 annual, waived at ₹80k spend (Y1: ₹20k in 90 days)
- 1.5% cashback on offline retail (capped per cycle)
- 8 complimentary railway lounge visits/year
Exclusions & fine print
Typically excluded or reduced: EMI, Fuel, Rent.
Best for: Offline retail cashback · Railway lounge users · ₹15K+ income
Read full AU Altura+ Credit Card review with spend simulator →
6. AU LIT Credit Card
Issuer: AU Small Finance Bank · Tier: Classic · Annual fee: Lifetime free
India's customisable LTF card
Eligibility snapshot
- Min monthly income (salaried): ₹20,000
- Secured / FD-backed: No — standard unsecured
Reward structure
- all: 1.5X points — cap ₹2,000/month
Headline highlight: 1 RP/₹100 on Base retail (cap 10,000 RP/cycle)
Net value estimate (moderate spend profile)
- Gross annual rewards: ₹576
- Annual fee: −₹0
- Forex markup cost (est.): −₹420 (3.5% on international spends)
- Net annual value: ₹156 (0.04% effective return)
Key benefits
- Lifetime free base card
- 1 RP per ₹100 retail (max 10,000 RP/cycle) — paid feature packs add 5X/10X
- Fuel, rent, education, government, and cash withdrawal earn 0
Exclusions & fine print
Typically excluded or reduced: EMI, Fuel, Rent.
Best for: Users who want optional lounge/cashback add-ons · Lifetime-free seekers · ₹20K+ income
Read full AU LIT Credit Card review with spend simulator →
Common first credit card card mistakes
- Choosing a partner card when you split spends across merchants.
- Ignoring wallet-load exclusions (PhonePe/Paytm loads often earn zero).
- Paying annual fee without hitting fee-waiver spend threshold.
- Assuming surcharge waiver equals reward rate (fuel cards).
Compare before you apply
Headline rates mislead. Compare your top two picks side-by-side or use the 2-minute quiz for a ranked shortlist including cards you may not have considered.
Disclaimer
Reward rates, caps, and fees sourced from issuer public T&Cs as of June 2026. CardHungry is a third-party platform — not a bank, not a credit bureau. Approval not guaranteed. We earn commission if approved — at no cost to you. Zero sales calls.
Related guides
Your spends are different
These picks use the moderate profile above. Edit spends to re-rank this page, or take CardHungry's quiz — no CIBIL pull.
CardHungry is a third-party recommendation platform, not a bank or credit bureau. Approval estimates are indicative based on public eligibility criteria. Reward calculations use issuer T&Cs and may change. We earn commission if you are approved — at no cost to you.







